• specify your order
  • our price: $44.95
    sale price: $34.95
  • Out of stock

PLEASE NOTE: SORRY, THIS IS SOLD OUT! Sometime in 2015, I will do a small re-print of this and some other 'out of print' POWER POP PRIME volumes. If you'd like to be notified of this re-pressing, email me at: popgeekheaven@gmail.com


•For the United States, it is $7.00 per book (Priority Mail)
•All Non-U.S. countries, shipping is $16.00 per book


VOLUME 9 in this series will focus on the year: 2010

The book will be 300 pages and has three core parts: The first part of the book will focus on reviewing and displaying the very best CDs from the year 2010. Want to know what the best releases from 2010 were? This is your front-of-the-line, authorative resource for knowing where to begin.

The second part
- and the second half of the book will have interviews with around 40 of the bands/artists featured in the book. These interviews will probe and explore a better understanding of their creative process and this particular project.

The third part is the music. The "Volume 9" book will come bunded with three CDs. Yes, 3 CDs. As in, 'three'.

I’ve contacted some of the best artists from 2010 and they have agreed to share their music with “Power Pop Prime-Volume 9” buyers! These 3 compilation CDs will highlight some of my favorite songs from these artists and contain close to 40 songs to add to your collection. (SORRY - the CDs that came with the first edition of this volume are SOLD OUT. The lower price of this book reflects this not being available any longer...)


  • 300 pages of PURE Power Poppin’ Information & Enrichment!
  • Article: “A Power Pop Primer” by Mike Baron
  • List: 50 pages of reviews that cover the Top 100 Power Pop Releases from 2010!
  • Interviews: “An Overview Of The Independent Power Pop Scene In The 90s”
  • THREE BONUS CDs - 45 songs over 3 CDs from some of the best power pop from 2010!SORRY, these CDs are SOLD OUT - price here is for BOOK ONLY

Super Cool Real Pop Geek Testimonial!


"Just when that Blind Curve caught us head-on via Digital Transmission that Power Pop had lost its Guiding Light, Mr. Brodeen returned under Full “POWER POP PRIME” Ignition once again! Not One; Not Two ... Not Eight; but NineVolumes (did someone say ‘Not Lame’ ... ?).

With so many Audio Anecdotes and Tantalizing Tales from Volumes 7 and 9 filling your Two-Track (Analog) Mind as Literary Visions of ‘Twin Guitars’ & ‘Heart-pounding Rhythm Sections’ dance in your Head; let the Musical Facts speak for themselves ...THE ENCYCLOPEDIA POP-TANICA’ AT ITS ABSOLUTE FINEST." -ROBERT GALVAN Pacific Grove, CA

(Someone buy this man a virtual round of drinks, will ya? That was awesome!) ========================================

BACKGROUND ON THE "Power Pop Prime: A Pop Geek's Guide To Awesome - The Not Lame Years" Series:
From the golden age of power pop comes the first and only essential resource for serious fans of the genre. The eight volumes in Power Pop Prime gather Bruce Brodeen's seminal snap-shot reviews that documented this era for fans of his label and online retailer, Not Lame Recordings. The Power Pop Prime series spans the entirety of Not Lame’s operation, from 1995 to 2010.

Each book in the series will be a very limited edition pressing. DO NOT WAIT to order because this volume will sell out (very) soon.

During this time, Not Lame released more than 100 CDs on its label (including such pop titans as The Posies, Jellyfish, Dwight Twilley, Tommy Keene, Parthenon Huxley, Blue Ash and The Shazam) and offered more than 15,000 titles from (mostly) independent bands and labels from all over the world from its mail-order web site.

Although a cult of sorts has formed around these brief and often off-the-wall reviews, they were originally intended simply as a buyer's guide, not a source of entertainment unto themselves. But entertaining they are. And opinionated. And sometimes inscrutable. And (almost) always right about the artistic merit of the music they critiqued.

Power Pop Prime is the ideal trail map for the power pop fan seeking to discover releases and artists they've somehow missed. It is the continuation of Not Lame's mission -- to guide you on your journey to find your ‘next favorite new band’.

And because it's always about the music
, each book in the series comes with either a single CD and some of them with multiple CDs bundled with the book.