DAVE EDMUNDS - anthology 1968-90 (2 CDs)

  • specify your order
  • our price: $9.99
  • Out of stock

2 CDs, 41 trax.

"4 1/s strs. A double-disc set covering Dave Edmunds' entire career, the 41-song Anthology (1968-1990) does a fine job of capturing his musical evolution, even if it is not without its faults. To a certain extent,Anthology is a definitive compilation, since it begins with Love Sculpture's infamous "Sabre Dance" and runs through his early solo recordings ("I Hear You Knocking"), before hitting Rockpile ("Trouble Boys," "Deborah," "Girls Talk," "Crawling from the Wreckage," "Queen of Hearts") and Edmunds' overly synthesized recordings with Jeff Lynne, adding a couple of rarities like the excellent Carlene Carterduet "Baby Ride Easy" along the way. However, the track selection is uneven, including far too manyLove Sculpture songs and Lynne collaborations, which tends to dilute the spirit of Edmunds' best music. Still, Anthology is the best overview of Edmunds' entire career, even if the single-disc The Best of Dave Edmunds may be a better, more consistent introduction for many listeners."- AMG

Disc: 1

1. River To Another Day - Love Sculpture
2. The Stumble - Love Sculpture
3. Sabre Dance - Love Sculpture
4. Summertime - Love Sculpture
5. In The Land Of The Few - Love Sculpture
6. Farandole ( From L'Arlesienne) - Love Sculpture
7. I Hear You Knocking
8. The Promised Land
9. Down Down Down
10. Born To Be With You
11. Leave My Woman Alone
12. Here Comes The Weekend
13. I Knew The Bride
14. Juju Man
15. Little Darlin'
16. Let's Talk About Us
17. As Lovers Do
18. Trouble Boys
19. Deborah
20. Never Been In Love

Disc: 2

1. Girls Talk
2. Crawling From The Wreckage
3. The Creature From The Black Lagoon
4. Queen Of Hearts
5. Singing The Blues
6. Baby Ride Easy
7. Crying In The Rain
8. If Sugar Was As Sweet As You - Rockpile
9. Almost Saturday Night
10. (I'm Gonna Start) Living Again If It Kills Me
11. The Race Is On
12. From Small Things, Big Things Come
13. Me And The Boys
14. Warmed Over Kisses (Leftover Love)
15. One More Night
16. Slipping Away
17. Information
18. Something About You
19. High School Nights
20. King Of Love
21. Closer To The Flame